Walk into Grand Pacific Junction™
and step back more than 100 years.
The mystique and intrigue of the various
architectural designs in historic Olmsted Falls, produce an ambiance of
unbelievable nature. It is one of the most authentic and original revitalized
downtown historical districts in Ohio. Architectural make-up of this area is late
1880s flat storefront construction, Greek revival with post beam construction,
late Victorian and Mid-1920's commercial storefront.
Surrounding you are some of the
same buildings David Stearns, who was the second settler in 1816, wrote about in
1879 when he described the town as having "four general stores, two drug
stores, one tailor shop, one broom factory, one felloe (wagon wheel) shop, and one
lumber yard." The population that year was 700, with three churches and
the Union Schoolhouse.
The name of the town came from
Aaron Olmsted, who bought the acreage describe as Township Six of Range 15 of the
land The Connecticut Land Company had purchased from the Indians and named the
Western Reserve in 1805. It had been called Olmsted from 1829 until 1851, when
the land between Plum Creek and Rocky River became officially known as Olmsted
Falls. At this time the railroads had arrived and the Grand Pacific Hotel was
moved to its present location in 1858.